This collection of records concerning the Acacia Villa School is selected from the papers of Mortimer V. Marshall. Acacia Villa School was founded in July 1852 as a private school for boys. Originally named the Lower Horton Seminary, it was located at Horton Landing (now Hortonville), Kings County, NS. By about the 1905-1906 school term, the school permitted girls to attend classes. Acacia Villa School closed in [late May] 1920. Today none of the original buildings remain standing, but the Wolfville Historical Society has erected a monument on the grounds of the former school. In 1963, Mortimer Villiers Marshall researched and wrote A Short History of Acacia Villa School. It was published and distributed through an agreement with the Acadia University Institute. A taped interview at Accession 1981.012 also includes a brief description of this research. While conducting his research, Marshall collected school programs, calendars, photographs, artefacts and other materials relating to the Acacia Villa School; these form the basis of this collection.
The Acadia Bulletin is the official organ of the Associated Alumni of Acadia University. The beginnings were modest. The first bulletin published in 1912 was little more than leaflets of six pages. It was published by the Acadia Bulletin Company, and was sold for a subscription of 25 cents per year. By the 1920s the Acadia Bulletin covered campus events, programmes from the annual closing exercises, addresses from Convocation as well as offered articles on Acadia’s history. In 1923, under President Patterson, the Bulletin was expanded and photographs and line drawings were introduced, along with a personals section. It was also at this time when the subscription fee was dropped. Under the editorship of Professor Harold Sipprell in 1931, the publication expanded again, becoming totally dedicated to the Acadia University and its Alumni. At this time, each issue featured a message from the president, an overview of the year on campus, and for the first time the Executive of the Alumni began reporting on their activities. Rev. Dr. George Levy edited the Bulletin from 1947-1964, followed by Professor Duncan Fraser from 1964-1968, followed by Bill Parker (1968-1972) and then George Levy’s niece Linda Cann (1973-1990). Since that time the Bulletin has had numerous editors associated with the Alumni Affairs Office. According to the library records the Bulletin has changed names twice. It originally started as the Acadia Bulletin, changed to the Acadia University Alumni Bulletin in 1985 and then back to Acadia Bulletin in 2002.
This collection consists of records from the Acadia Ladies' Seminary, and its students. Included are the two student publications, the Thistle, and the Pierian.
This large collection comprises Acadia University photographs that lack provenance. This collection contains campus and related buildings. Subject headings used specify dates for buildings or periods of campus growth and change.
This collection comprises Acadia University photographs that lack provenance and contains class photographs for the University, the Collegiate, and the Seminary.