Louis Franquet (1697-1768), was a French army officer and military engineer. He traveled to French-held areas such as Louisbourg, Ile Royale, Ile Saint-Jean, Trois-Rivieres, and Fort Beausejour to examine and map out the fortifications. His reports were sent back to France. These records are 19th century handwritten copies of Franquet's writings, maps, and plans, created by an unknown author. The records all written in French.